NPP chief Conrad Sangma takes oath as Meghalaya CM

Guwahati, March 6

Conrad Sangma, the president of the National Peoples Party (NPP) and Lok Sabha MP from Tura, on Tuesday took oath as the 12th Chief Minister of Meghalaya.He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Governor of Meghalaya, Ganga Prasad, in the Raj Bhavan in Shillong along with 11 other members of the council of ministers.The ministers included  Prestone  Tynsong (NPP), James Sangma (NPP), A L Hek (BJP), Sniawbhalang Dhar (NPP), Comingone Ymbon (NPP), Metbah Lyngdoh (UDP), Lakmen Rymbui (UDP), Kyrmen Shylla (UDP), Banteidor Lyngdoh (PDF), Hamlet Dohling  (PDF) and  Samlinv Malngiang (HSPDP).Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP president Amit Shah, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh and BJP national spokesperson Nalin Kohli were present at the swearing-in ceremony.The NPP president had met the governor on Sunday and staked claim to form the government with the support of 34 MLAs in the 60-member assembly.Sangma claimed he had the support of 19 MLAs of the NPP, six of the United Democratic Party (UDP), four of the People’s Democratic Front (PDF), two each of the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) and the BJP and an Independent.Meghalaya threw up a fractured mandate on Saturday with the Congress emerging the largest party, marginally ahead of the NPP, an ally of the BJP at the Centre and in Manipur.