IPL 2017: Mitch McClenaghan rallies Mumbai Indians to win over Delhi Daredevils

Lasith Malinga’s absence did not deter former champions Mumbai Indians from defending their paltry total of 142 for eight against Delhi Daredevils in the Indian Premier League at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday.

The 14-run win helped Mumbai Indians further consolidate their supremacy at the top of the IPL points table. The victory was a first for Rohit Sharma’s team while defending a total in this IPL so far.

The Fightback

Although it was a low-scoring game, the contest was quite gripping. After Mumbai Indians reduced Delhi Daredevils to 24/6 at one stage, IPL debutant Kagiso Rabada (44) and Chris Morris (52 not out) kept the visitors in the match. The hosts only came back into the game when the 91-run seventh wicket partnership was broken with South African fast bowler Rabada’s dismissal.


Delhi Daredevils bowlers dished out a dominating performance with leg spinner Amit Mishra returning magical figures of 4-1-18-2, claiming the big wickets of Rohit Sharma and Krunal Pandya.

Such was Delhi Daredevils’ dominance with the ball that only four Mumbai Indians batsmen (Jos Buttler, Kieron Pollard, Krunal and Hardik Pandya) managed to get double-digit scores.

Contrasting starts

While MI were blessed with a rollicking start again (48/1 in power play overs) with Buttler plundering an 18-ball 28 (3×4, 2×6) before being run out by a brilliant direct hit by Sanju Samson, DD were off to their worst start of IPL 10 so far.


Mumbai Indians pacers began with a bang, sending back half the side back during the Powerplay overs. Aditya Tare’s run out in the first over opened the floodgates for Mumbai Indians. In the next 33 balls, Delhi Daredevils lost five wickets as batsmen found it difficult to cope with the pace and bounce on offer on the Wankhede pitch.

McClenaghan masterful

Sanju Samson, Delhi Daredevils’ most consistent player so far, ended up giving an easy catch to MI skipper Rohit Sharma at mid-off off McClenaghan. Shreyas Iyer was guilty of poking his bat to a ball outside the leg stump delivery off McClenaghan which was safely caught by wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel.

Three balls later, McClenaghan struck again as Corey Anderson was struck on his back pad, which would have otherwise crashed into his leg stump. McClenaghan was the pick of the MI bowlers with 3/24.

Delhi Daredevils plunged into further crisis when Rishabh Pant (0) and India’s second Test triple centurion Karun Nair (5) were dismissed in successive overs.


Rabada-Morris camaraderie

However, debutant Rabada and Morris kept their calm and didn’t take unnecessary risks. Their South African camaraderie also worked in Delhi Daredevils. Their approach was to largely rotate strike but not spare any loose deliveries.

Rohit Sharma tried all options to break the dangerous partnership, but Rabada and Morris looked unperturbed.

The duo was successful in bringing down the equation to 42 off 18 balls. Morris then slammed a four and six off McClenaghan’s final over to bring the equation down to 30 off 12 balls.

Jasprit Bumrah finally provided the breakthrough Mumbai Indians were looking for after Rabada missed a slower yorker to be bowled. He also conceded just five runs off his over as Delhi Daredevils were left needing 25 runs off the final over.

Hardik Pandya, bowling the final over, conceded only 10 runs as the Wankhede crowd erupted in joy.