Election for Vice President’s post to be held on August 5

New Delhi, June 29

The Election Commission on Thursday announced that election to the office of Vice President would take place on August 5.

The counting of votes will take place the same day as members of the electoral college will cast their votes between 10 am and 5 pm.

There are 790 members in the electoral college which comprises members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Of the 790 eligible voters, there are 233 elected members of Rajya Sabha and 12 nominated members. Similarly, from Lok Sabha there are 543 elected and 2 nominated members.

The EC has appointed Rajya Sabha Secretary General Shamsher Sarin as the returning officer for the conduct of election to the office of Vice President.

Notification for the election will be issued on July 4 and the last date for filing nomination is July 18.