EC puts off RS poll in WB, Gujarat, Goa

New Delhi, May 22

The Election Commission (EC) today decided to postpone the biennial elections to 10 Rajya Sabha seats from Goa, Gujarat and West Bengal. The move reportedly comes following realisation that the notified date (June 8) for the Upper House elections might coincide with the presidential election and EC’s “EVM challenge” to parties.The EC said it had decided to withdraw its earlier notification on the Rajya Sabha elections. “The commission will announce a programme for holding biennial election to council of states from Goa, Gujarat and West Bengal in due course,” it said.An official said: “Secretaries of legislative assemblies are notified as returning officers for the Rajya Sabha  elections and  are also to be appointed as assistant returning officers for the presidential poll.” TNS